¡Viva Mexicana!

So…guess what?! For my summer vacation with mi familia, we took the trip to Cancun, Mexico for a week! I actually have been to Mexico before…when I was four. So it’s nice to be here when I can retain information and understand the significance of what I’m seeing. 🙂 So we arrived here on Sunday around noonish. After making it to our room from the airport, we unpacked and headed straight to the beach. If you are the type to have a bucket list, right now, write “swim in beach at Cancun, Mexico.” The water is flippin turquoise, which still amazes me. You can see straight to the bottom where it’s sandy. The waves are pretty crazy, but I must say it is a lot of fun to swim in. Unfortunately, the first second I started to get into the ocean, I was knocked over underwater, and I lost my favorite pair of sunglasses. That’s so sketch. 😦

Today, we took a boat ride over to Isla Mujeres, a lovely little island about a mile (or two) off the coast of Cancun. After getting off the boat, we rented a golf cart (seriously. you can ride golfcarts around the island). We spent the first part of the day walking around shopping. I got a new pair of sunglasses, thankfully. For the first time, I went snorkeling. To tell you the truth, I thought it would be a lot more amazing than it was. I thought I would see an array of a ton of different species of fish. But it was small reef, so there was probably only three different species of fish. I liked how the fish were so close up…kind of. It was still neat, but not quite what I expected.

The funny thing about Mexico is that when any of the natives find out that my name is Maria, they get really excited. I’m not quite sure why…besides that a ton of people are named Maria. But it still is strange. I can’t help but laugh. After stopping for lunch, we headed back to near where the boat was. While we were waiting for the boat to pull into the dock, I did the unthinkable. I got a henna tattoo on my arm! Haha, that’s not quite unthinkable, but I think it’s pretty cool. I’m not quite old enough to get a real tattoo, so I wear this henna with pride. 🙂

Well that’s my last two days. I hope I haven’t bored you with my dull life. 😉 More later!

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on July 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
