Books You Absolutely MUST Read Before You Die.

This list is free to be added to. I would like to hear my readers’ book lists, too.

Being the avid reader I am, I’ve come to conclusion there are just some books that I feel like I haven’t lived until I’ve read them. Of course the Bible is the first one that comes to mind, but this list fits more into the fiction category. So, loves, here you go.

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is just one of those books that will forever be close to my heart. It’s terribly thought-provoking and some of the quotes are just so..amazing. Reading it makes me feel infinite.

2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Being a feminist, I loved reading this book about this girl’s passion to survive despite what she grows up in. It shows that there is hope for love for anybody.

3. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

Oh my gosh, where do I start?! This series is simply fantastic. Suzanne Collins is an extremely talented writer, and the story line is just of whirlwind of survival, romance, and rebellion. I just love it!

4. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

This is the ultimate teenage girl book. Wes is just so…dreamy. On a less shallow level, Macy is just the best main character and she’s really strong, even though she doens’t think she is. Between truth-telling, good writing, and a note of deepness, Sarah Dessen creates a wonderful masterpiece that I just plain loved.

5. The Giver by Lois Lowry

I know people who didn’t like this book as much, but it really brought on a lot of thoughts for me. Like what would have it been like to live in utopian society. It made me think about how I’m glad my life has some imperfections in it, cause maybe perfect isn’t quite as awesome as we make it out to be.

6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I’ve always thought that even though it can be super depressing, the Holocaust is something very interesting to read about. This book is about the Holocaust and one young girls “quest” to save a Jewish friend. It’s a very provocative and emotionally moving book.

7. The Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke

These series of books is the closest to fantasy novels I could ever get. But Funke has a very capturing and creative writing style that sucked me in quickly. Great series.

8. It’s Kind of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Actually this book was just recently turned into a movie and I’ve yet to see it. This book was really sad for me to read because it is about a boy who is extremely depressed. But the good thing is that he finds hope and surprisingly love. Can’t hate that.

9. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

A little bit of this book was hard to follow, and well, Holden Caulfield curses like a sailor. But I love it. J.D. Salinger wrote it in the 40’s, so it feels kinda vintage reading it.

10. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Even the movie sucked, the book has a quality to it about, well, defeating cancer. “I have cancer, but cancer doesn’t have me” kind of thing. It’s really really sad, but what good book isn’t?

Covers 🙂

  

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on December 4, 2010.

7 Responses to “Books You Absolutely MUST Read Before You Die.”

  1. Immanuel’s Veins by Ted Dekker. A DEFINITE must-read.

  2. So I’ve heard. I’m asking for it for Christmas. 🙂

  3. Tell me what you think of it when you finish reading it! It’s sooooooo good.

  4. For sure! Have you read any other Ted Dekker books?

  5. I haven’t finished any others. I’ve started some but stopped because I don’t want to get creeped out! 😀 Have you?

    I don’t have to have read a lot of his books to know that Dekker is brilliant. He is an amazing writer and I don’t even know how to describe his style of writing.

  6. He is a very good writer, especially for a Christian. Cause I’ve read some Christian fiction before that’s not…that good. But he is brilliant for any type of writing.
    I’ve read the books Black and Red. They were very good. 🙂

  7. I want to read that series! I think we have most of them, I just have to find them.

    And I think it’s amazing how he writes in such a way that non-believers will pick up the book and not be turned off because they think they’re getting preached at. Yet it still delivers the message of the Gospel. 🙂 I wish I could write like that.

Leave a Reply

 
