Something I found rather captivating..

In my English class, we are currently reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. A lot of people find it boring and slow, but me, being the girl that has a passion for books, loves it. The writing style is surprisingly easy to read, yet still compelling. At first a lot of it seems shallow because most of it is about “scoring a rich man,” however there are hints of depthness that peek out at points.

“Pride is a very common failing, I believe. By all that I have ever read, I am convinced that it is very common indeed, that human nature is particularly prone to it, and that there are very few of us who do not cherish a feeling of self-complacency on the core of some quality or other, real or imaginary.” -Charlotte

I reread this quote a few times to understand it, and I found a lot of truth and reflection in its words. When I applied it to myself, I realized that I have absolutely no confidence but an over-abundance of pride. It doesn’t really make sense, but I guess pride is more of an arrogance thing and confidence is defined more by faith or trust. Haha, most people wouldn’t really get that out of this line. Maybe my point is that there is always room for a little introsepction.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on February 8, 2011.

3 Responses to “Something I found rather captivating..”

  1. I wish there was a “like” button for these posts because I sure like them a lot! 🙂 Interesting thoughts… I can’t wait to read Jane Austen. 🙂 We are still on Romeo and Juliet but I am loving it. I never thought I could relate so well to Shakespeare.

  2. Oh I wish my class was reading Romeo and Juliet. I have always loved Shakespeare. He’s just such a genius writer. 🙂

  3. Yes, he is. Everyone says they can’t understand him because of the Old English but I’m like, how can you not understand? He captures human nature so well…

Leave a Reply

 
