*Sigh*

“It’s not that I don’t believe in love, I just love someone I don’t believe in.”

I am a holiday kind of person. I really love the joy that Christmas brings, the family time I get at Thanksgiving, and the fireworks and such over the 4th of July. I’m even the weird girl that kind of enjoys days like Earth Day.

However, Valentine’s Day isn’t cutting it for me. I know that I’m terminally single (too complex for guys, I guess?), but having it shoved in my face and paraded in front of me all this excruciatingly long day gets old fast.

Also, it is obvious that this culture believes that you must be in a relationship to be happy, an opinion that is easy to subside to if one is not careful. Thankfully I don’t feel like this anymore; I know I can be happy without “a man.” I’ve written in my journal a long list of standards I want in a guy, and I’m going to try my hardest to stick to it. But these wishful thoughts still linger: the idea that there is someone out there who I am perfectly compatible with.

It’s comforting to know that God loves me. Though I may look for satisfaction and acceptance elsewhere, He is the ultimate destination for my searching. My heart knows this, I just have to convince my brain…..

*Sigh*

Until next time,

Maria

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on February 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
