As much as I can summarize…

Well, for the time being, I am back. Yay!  To mark the start of a new school year, I changed my background. It’s simple but cute, and it just looks so much neater. I’m hoping I can keep up with blogging a little bit better now that I’m trying to get back into it.

I know everybody says this, but this summer has flown by. It strange how it seems to get faster every year. Right after school ended in May, my family and I left for the much waited for Europe trip.

Paris and London are both really neat places. London reminded me a lot of New York City, because of all the expensive shops and of course, Piccadilly Circus, which is practically a smaller version of Times Square. But it was quite a lot of fun and it was nice being in a place where I recognized my own language. In the more historic part of the city, we went to the Globe, which was one of Shakespeare’s original theaters, and saw the play All’s Well That Ends Well. Though I hardly understood the quick Old English the actors spoke in, it was a really neat experience, and I would recommend it to anybody.

Paris, on the other hand, was like nothing I had ever seen before, except for in my dreams. The cobblestone streets, the old buildings, and the lovely language all seemed surreal and completely poetic. That feeling that you are walking on streets that are a part of history is something really irreplaceable. Not to mention, if I lived in Paris, I would feel no need to ever go to Starbucks again, because at any cafe the coffee is wonderful. Paris is somewhere I would really love to go back to for a longer time.

Ok, enough rambling about vacation. This summer I have spent my time reading, exercising, taking photographs, and just being busy in general (whatever that means…I don’t even know). I’ve put most types of writing on hold for the time being. Hopefully my desire to write will come back soon. However, this summer, I have focused on reading the book of Isaiah along with my regular devotions. It’s something I really have to focus on, so I’ve only been growing through about a chapter or two a day. But God has really spoke to me through my study (which I will explain the highlights in a follow-up post later).

That’s all for now…more to come.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on August 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “As much as I can summarize…”

  1. Ah, France sounds so nice. 🙂 I’m still jealous. Can’t wait to read more!

  2. I know you would absolutely love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
