Decembrrrr…

Ha, get it? Brrr? Yeah. Anywayyyss..

I really love winter. There’s just something so purely beautiful about the sun setting into black silhouetted trees. It’s not photo-shopped; it’s the same raw beauty every time. It makes me want to just give someone a big hug and then talk for hours about life and its antics (or in other words, I’ll just snuggle with my dog).

Anyways, I have one week left of classes, and then a week of *gulp* finals. It wouldn’t really be an issue if I had more motivation to study. But unfortunately, my mind is slipping into that Christmas break mode where I just want to be lazy and read books and watch movies. My logic is that there are so many good books to read and good films to watch, so why would I want to pick up my chemistry book and try to cram information that I will never understand anyway into my brain? My point is, it’s tough, and I need to get out of this funk I’m in.

However, this year in my literature class, we have to write a short story to be turned in on the day of the final. At first the idea of a short story seemed quite daunting and honestly, boring, especially since I haven’t done anything creatively with writing since I can’t even remember when. But once I thought about it, this could actually be a lot of fun. I’m trying to write like a horror/murder mystery that takes place in the 1920’s. It’s very fun to write. And it’s a bit liberating writing something close to decent for the first time in forever.

Well, that’s all I will say for today. I hope any readers will have the motivation to get through these last bits of school. Happy December to you all.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on December 5, 2011.

One Response to “Decembrrrr…”

  1. I understand what you mean by that “funk” you’re in. I was like that a while ago. It’s really hard when you have a lot of school to do.

    That short story assignment sounds like heaven to me! I hate my lit class this year. We don’t do ANY writing and we have spent this entire semester on ancient and medieval writings (90% ancient, 10% medieval, actually). It’s just terrible.

Leave a Reply

 
