“Christmas is confusing.”

(Andy Warhol)

I think the quote explains it. Christmas day was wonderful and all, but I think the time leading up to Christmas can be sort of stressful and as the quote says, confusing. Maybe it’s because of how commercialized it has become. I’m not saying the gift-giving is bad, in fact, I truly look forward to getting and giving gifts on Christmas. But I don’t think Christmas is as sacred as it could be. Like it really bothers me that people are probably crazily shopping today for the “after-Christmas” sales. I think society is too concerned with…stuff. And I am guilty of this as well.

Well, I’ll stop complaining about things I don’t really understand. I’m looking forward to New Year’s. I searched through my old blog posts and found my list of resolutions from last year. I’m going to think long and hard about what I want to change in my life for this year. And I don’t want to do things that are vague and hard to follow through with like “be healthier” or “try to be nicer.” I want to outline specific things that I need to change. So in other words, expect a follow-up post.

Oh, I got a really retro film camera for Christmas. It’s a lightly used Pentax k1000, which is like the king of film cameras. So, hopefully I will learn to use it right, and I will have some solid photography soon.

That’s all. Goodbye for now.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on December 26, 2011.

4 Responses to ““Christmas is confusing.””

  1. Melanie here! I enjoyed this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog. MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

  2. Well, why don’t you ask it right here??

  3. I know how you feel about not wanting to make vague resolutions. I’m thinking hard about mine too. Make sure to let me know what you come up with! I’m still not sure…

  4. Yes, I’ll be sure to post about it. 🙂 You do as well, please!

Leave a Reply

 
