Thoughts

Well, it has been a lovely day. As part of my birthday gift, my dad took me to the High Art Museum in Atlanta. So I spent the afternoon essentially walking around and staring at pictures, which is truly a fine way to spend an afternoon in my opinion.

Looking at art makes me more pensive than usual. After we went through the Picasso to Warhol exhibit (my second time, actually, was perhaps more amazing than my first), we went and looked at some photographs taken by Ralph Gibson. They were all black and white film photos, and he shot really interesting subject matter like this:

 

Here’s what I realized: taking cliche pictures of trees, flowers, etc. etc. (even if they are technically well taken) is not at all the sort of thing that will get your work into a museum. One has to be original. Take Ralph’s pictures for instance; they have a haunting essence to them that makes them special.

I hope I can find my own photography/art/writing style that is unique to me. Not that my goal is to necessarily to get my work into a museum someday (even though that would be cool), but just as an artist, I want my work to be solely mine.

Ok well this post really doesn’t have much of point, so I’ll stop before I ramble on  about something dumb. Haha, goodnight!

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on January 14, 2012.

One Response to “Thoughts”

  1. Sounds like a great birthday to me! I love the pictures… you’re right, very haunting and original.

Leave a Reply

 
