Secret Name.

We talked about this in my small group yesterday, and it really impacted me, so I felt obliged to share it. It’s based on the book Secret Name by Kary Oberbrunner (which after this, I am immediately adding it to my Books to Read list).

To start, we all have the name that our parents have given us. My name happens to be Maria.

Then we have the names that the world has given us. They can be both negative and positive names. To list a few of mine:

awkward, pretty, average, arrogant, smart, depressed, discontented, self-reliant, strange, tired, ugly, creative, and uncreative.

We give ourselves these names as well. And we’ll live our lives trying to live up to these names or even trying to prove that they’re wrong.

Until yesterday, I had never even thought of God having His own name for me, even though there are ton of instances in the Old Testament where God just changes people’s names to something more fitting to who they are. But I had never thought that he does that for everybody, not just His “chosen few” or something like that. He calls us all something that is true and perfect, and He actually sees us that way.

When I call myself Awkward or Strange, He calls me Wonderfully Made (Psalm 139:15-16). When I call myself Ugly, he calls me Beautiful (Ezekiel 16:8-14). When I call myself Discontented, He calls me to become Satisfied (Philippians 4:19). When I call myself Common, He calls me Royalty (Romans 8:15-17).

This really opened a new perspective for me in the way that I view God. Lately, I’ve just been feeling guilty and unworthy because of how little of an effort I’ve been putting into my relationship with Him. But I forget that He meets me where I am at, and He will show me my identity, my name, and my purpose infinitely more than the world will.

Well that’s all. I know it’s kind of a lot to process, but I hope I gave you something to think about.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on January 26, 2012.

One Response to “Secret Name.”

  1. I”ve never thought of that before… It’s a very interesting and comforting thought, at least to me. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

 
