veganism? why, yes.

As according to my bucket list,

Number 18: Try out being a vegan for a minimum of two weeks.

Today is my…*counts fingers*…fifth day being vegan. So for the last five days, I haven’t partaken of meat, eggs, dairy, and gelatin. It’s actually been really amazing. There’s a certain natural energy that comes from eating only natural food. I know that may sound extremely pretentious, being vegan and all, but it’s been surprisingly wonderful. Eating a bunch of oatmeal and hummus and veggies is kind of a dream.

I wish I could be vegan for a period longer than two weeks, but it’s a really expensive lifestyle. All the soy products are extremely overpriced. I don’t understand how it’s so cheap to go to McDonald’s and get a burger, but to have healthy food, it’s so expensive. No wonder America has so many obesity issues, healthy food is too pricy! I’ve read that in Denmark, it is the other way around, and unhealthy food is given a special tax. It’s kind of mind-blowing. Believe me though, I love eating juicy chicken nuggets and french fries (and for under $5) as much as anyone. I just wish that there were more options for America to eat cheap and healthy food.

Which leads me to the idea that there should be a vegan/vegetarian fast food chain. I’m surprised it hasn’t already happened.

Anyways. *rant over* It feels good to actually get something done on my bucket list, because a lot of them require being over 18 and having money. To cross something off next week will feel quite nice.

Well, that’s all I have tonight. Sorry I’m rather inconsistent with blogging. Hope everyone has a nice rest of the weekend. Au revoir!

P.S. This is completely off topic from this post, but please go to the library or a bookstore right now and get the book Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. Oh my gosh, such an amazing book. To be honest, it might have brought me back into my elementary/middle school phase of reading practically only historical fiction. And it was an easy and quick read, as well. Look it up and read about it, then get the book. Seriously. It’s really worth it.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on March 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “veganism? why, yes.”

  1. That’s so cool! I tried being vegan for just one day and I didn’t make it. Haha I was planning on my Lara Bar being vegan but it wasn’t and I was starving so I just ate it. Anyway, keep me in touch with how that goes! I would love to try that one day. Next year my resolution is to be a vegetarian so I’ll be able to relate in some way. 🙂 Oh, and about the vegetarian/vegan fast food chains, I completely agree! There are some restaurants in the more urban areas that cater to that demographic but there’s not nearly enough. Anyway, sorry for such a long comment. Hope you’re doing good!

  2. Haha yeah I’ve tried here and there to be vegan or at least organic for a day and I have tragically failed. And yeah Larabars are the besssttt, but it sucks that a bunch of them aren’t vegan.
    That’s an awesome resolution for next year. I might do that as well…
    I wish I wasn’t so far away from Atlanta. There are a bunch of stand-alone vegan restaurants there, but I’m just not there often enough. *sigh*
    I hope all is well with you, too. I really miss you!

Leave a Reply

 
