News

Well, my vegan phase has ended. It really was a wonderful thing to do, and I recommend it for everyone to try out being vegan at some point of their lives. It has kind of changed my mindset about food; I’m learning to just take what I need. Well, emphasis on learning. This morning, my mother had pastries out for breakfast. Let’s be real – I really missed stuff like that. But I want to incorporate more vegetables and soy products into my diet. They really give the body a natural edge that can’t be taken from caffeine.

Switching topics, I have exciting news! I’ll start at the beginning of the story, because it’s kind of humorous, to me at least. So this summer, there was an opportunity for me to go on a mission trip with my church to Russia for about two weeks in July. Naturally, I jumped at the chance and got more info. One “tiny” problem was that it’s $3000+ to go. I asked my parents about it, and they seemed very skeptical about it because of the expense and because Russia is so far away.

Well then, we later got an email from Hollie, one of my best friends who lives and is a missionary in Tegucigalpa, Honduras with her husband. She asked if I wanted to come down for a week during the summer. Because it’s a lot less expensive than Russia and closer, my parents were supportive of it. So long story short, we’ve bought my ticket and I’m going to Honduras this summer! I’m super excited but also kind of scared because I’m going to be travelling by myself. I’ve never done that before, but I know it’s going to be quite an adventure. 🙂

So in Honduras, I’ll be probably be doing the same thing I did on my last mission trip – playing with the children at the school, maybe shadowing Hollie, who is a nurse there. Anyways, it would be awesome if you could be praying for me. It’s a while off, but I know it’s going to come up on me quickly.

I would ramble on more, but unfortunately I have a math test to study for. Hope everyone has a nice week!

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on March 13, 2012.

2 Responses to “News”

  1. Ah! That’s so exciting! I am overwhelmingly jealous but even more happy for you! I will definitely be praying for you.

  2. Thank you, Sarah!!

Leave a Reply

 
