Bruised

It’s weird how something so quickly can practically ruin your life.

Friday, I got in a bad car wreck. Aside from a nasty bruise, I didn’t get hurt, and neither did the other person, but my car is probably totaled. It was the scariest thing that’s ever happened to me. It makes me sick that if I had taken another route or if I drove a little bit faster or slower, I wouldn’t have gotten in a wreck.

The worst part? It was my parents’ anniversary Friday. I was babysitting that night and I was going to pick up my younger sister from her swim practice.

At the scene of the wreck, before my parents got there, my mind kept jumping from “I ruined the car” and “oh my gosh Mom and Dad are going to kill me” and then “thank you Jesus for sparing me” which unfortunately leads to “but why the hell did you let this happen?!” The thing that surprised me the most is that my parents weren’t mad that I 1) totaled the car and 2) ruined their anniversary. They were just glad that I was okay. For some reason, I did not expect that at all, and it made (well, makes) me really emotional.

So now I have no money (because I have to pay a fine), out of a car, a burden on my parents (financially, and they now have to drive me around), unable to get a job, and now subjective to the stereotype of teenage/women drivers. But at least I’m alive? It all just makes me really sad.

I know everything could be so much worse, but I just wish it didn’t happen to begin with.

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on March 18, 2012.

4 Responses to “Bruised”

  1. Thank the Lord you’re okay! I’m so sorry that happened… that has to be scary to experience, especially so young. What happened to cause the accident?

  2. I was turning onto a highway at a green light and someone was coming straight and they plowed into the front side of my car. Scary stuff….

  3. Oh man… That sucks. I’m sorry.

  4. It’s all going to be alright. 🙂 Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
