Review Time..

Assuming you have seen the Hunger Games, I feel obligated to give a review.

To start, let me say that I enjoyed the movie. It was quite solid and I was (for the most part) satisfied.

Things I Loved

-This may seem odd, but I loved the other tributes. Cato, Clove, Glimmer, Foxface, Thresh, Rue, all of them. I feel like they were dead-on in character and exactly the way I imagined them. Cato was awesome in all of his evil glory and Clove was totally intrepid with a knife.

-The added “Who took my knife” scene. Rue is quite clever…

-Seneca Crane’s beard. I don’t know what genius thought of that, but it was wicked.

-District 12 at the beginning of the movie. It was well portrayed as oppressed and poverty-stricken.

-Katniss. She looked the part and acted it quite flawlessly.

Things I, however, did not like

-No Madge. Now come on.

-The guy who played Gale did a good job acting, but I don’t feel like he was the right person.

-Ok. For such a seemingly high tech movie, the fire was absolutely awful. The scene where Katniss and Peeta are in their fire costumes lost all of its raw power because of how horrible the fire looked. It’s 2012. Not 1992.

-Maybe I’m the only one that noticed this, but in the book, it specifically says that the male tributes always went first for their little auditions in front of the gamemakers. And Katniss goes first in the movie. What. Would it really have been that hard to have had Peeta go first?

-Lastly, I just generally feel that the plot was sort of rushed, even though the movie was two and a half hours long. If I hadn’t read the books, a whole lot of the stuff would be really confusing. Like Katniss’s flashbacks of the picture of her dad and her mother being depressed. That would not have made sense if I hadn’t read the books.

So what did you think of the movie?

~ by TheFirstLightofSummer on March 25, 2012.

3 Responses to “Review Time..”

  1. I agree with basically everything you said. I thought the tributes were cast well and all of them captured the essence of the characters. I also especially liked Cato. 🙂 And I absolutely agree with your complaints. That fire was… awful. I mean, look at Avatar, that was amazing! Couldn’t you have tried a little harder on a little bit of fire?

    A few of the things that bothered me that you didn’t mention are mostly petty but to me, gave it that… thing… that the book had. It bothered me that they messed up the ending when Peeta and Katniss were on the Cornucopia. Peeta was supposed to be like half-dead and they were supposed to listen to Cato being eaten for hours. I know that is probably too gruesome for a PG-13 movie, but it showed how truly vicious the Capitol is. And it bothered the crap out of me when the canon didn’t boom when Rue died. Then there is one huge part they they completely left out: Peeta’s leg! He gets a mechanical leg because his got chewed off by mutts. That comes back in the second book, so how are they going to pull that off? Oh, and Katniss and Peeta didn’t kiss enough. I was looking forward to that. 😉

  2. I completely agree! They did a good job, but it just could have been…better.
    Oh yeah and Cato’s my favorite. 😀
    I was looking forward to them kissing more as well. And right, Peeta’s leg! That was just silly to leave out.
    Despite these critiques, I’m still desperate for the next movie, even though it probably won’t come out for more than a year… *sigh* 😉

  3. I’m looking forward to it too! I hope it’s better, because Catching Fire was a great book.

Leave a Reply

 
